Migration researchers on Twitter

twitter-bird-white-on-blueHere’s my list of migration researchers on Twitter – that is, people who do research on migration and share their ideas about it in English on Twitter. Many of them (myself included) tweet about other things as well, but I’ve restricted the list to people who will not flood your feed with chit-chat. (There are other migration-related twitter accounts too, such as research centres, journals, and NGOs, which are not included here.)

Below is an overview of members. Follow me, and you will be updated about new additions.

You’ll find the list with avatars and bios on Twitter. To the right is the Twitter feed from the list.

Leisy Abrego ‏ @AbregoLeisy
David Bartram ‏ @DVBartram
Alexander Betts ‏ @alexander_betts
Scott Blinder ‏ @ScottBlinder
Christina Boswell ‏ @ChristinaBoswe2
Jørgen Carling ‏ @jorgencarling
Michael Clemens ‏ @m_clem
Michael Collyer ‏ @CollyerMC
Heaven Crawley ‏ @heavencrawley
Elizabeth Ferris ‏ @Beth_Ferris
Donna Gabaccia ‏ @drg1949
Ben Gidley ‏ @bengidley
Elzbieta Gozdziak ‏ @EGozdziak
Melanie BE Griffiths ‏ @MBEGriffiths New!
Hein de Haas ‏ @heindehaas
Laura Hammond ‏ @lhammondsoas
Ines Hasselberg ‏ @InesHasselberg New!
Heidi Østbø Haugen ‏ @HeidiOHaugen
James Ingram ‏ @IngyIngram
Katy Long ‏ @mobilitymuse
Mirca Madianou ‏ @madianou
Susan Martin ‏ @isimsmartin New!
David McKenzie ‏ @dmckenzie001
Ceri Oeppen ‏ @Oeppen
Chris Parsons ‏ @ParsonsEcon
Nicola Phillips ‏ @phillipsnicola1
Heather Rolfe ‏ @Heather_Rolfe
Martin Ruhs ‏ @MartinRuhs
Nikola Sander ‏ @nikolasander
Peter Scholten ‏ @pwascholten
Nando Sigona ‏ @nandosigona
Ibrahim Sirkeci ‏ @isirkeci
Jon Sward ‏ @JonSward
Carlos Vargas-Silva ‏ @CVar_Sil
María Villares ‏ @mvillaresvarela
Helen Williams ‏ @drhmwilliams
Dean Yang ‏ @deanyang

Have I missed anyone — academics who do research on migration and tweet about it? Let me know in the comments field. Thanks!

7 Comments on Migration researchers on Twitter

  1. @DVBartram, David Bartram, see website at http://www.le.ac.uk/sociology/db158 for more info — thanks!

  2. ineke Strik ‏ @Tineke_Strik
    GroenLinks Eerste Kamerlid, Raad van Europa, Docent Migratierecht Radboud Universiteit
    (she does tweet in Dutch and English)

    • Thanks for the tip, Wytzia. I have started following her (and you) but decided not to add her to the list for now. Looking at her tweets suggest that 80-90% are in Dutch. And her Twitter bio is in Dutch. There are other migration researchers I’ve left out because of the language. Perhaps I should expand the scope of the list, but for the time being I’ll keep it to people who tweet primarily in English.

  3. Sorry, only saw this now.

    @ben_elsner
    http://www.benjaminelsner.com

    My new year’s resolution for 2014 is to tweet more.

  4. @CRNCitizMigr is the twitter account of the Collaborative Research Network (CRN) on Citizenship & Migration, which is part of the Law and Society Association (LSA). In the upcoming year the account will feature tweets on research of a wide number of migration scholars. For members, see: http://crn2.wordpress.com/member-profiles/

    • Thanks! For the list of migration researchers, I have decided only to have individuals. There are many good Twitter accounts of research networks, institutions and projects related to migration, which could perhaps make up a separate list.

Comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s